Bacon cookie recipe evolution

December 24, 2007

bacon cookies

My mother-in-law was in town this weekend and as a bonding experience, my teenage daughter and I made cookies with her. (Very traditional Christmas activity, no?) We were going to an extended family brunch on Sunday where bacon is always the star ingredient, so what better to take than the infamous bacon cookies?

I tweaked the original recipe for a few different reasons.

  1. Time. Chilling the dough for an hour was just out of the question. If we had other baking to do, it would have been fine, but we wanted to bang these out.
  2. Laziness. Glazing just sounded like too much work, and I was concerned about stacking the cookies for transport.
  3. Traditionalism. We decided to stick with vanilla as our only flavoring to preserve what we all imagined as the ideal chocolate chip cookie.
  4. Preference. I am not a fan of white chocolate chips. Even the expensive ones taste waxy to me.

So, here is my version of the recipe:

Aura Mae’s No, really! It’s bacon! Chocolate Chip Cookies

The ultimate breakfast treat!

 

3/4 cup butter

2/3 cup packed brown sugar

2/3 cup granulated sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 egg

2 1/2 cups flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1 cup milk chocolate chips

1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

2 cups bacon bits (I used pre-cooked bacon I had from Costco that was still frozen)

Directions-

preheat oven to 350 degrees fahrenheit.

Beat together the butter, sugars, flavouring and eggs until creamy.

Add the dry ingredients to the butter mixture and stir together. Add in chocolate chips and bacon bits. Stir until well integrated.

Put six golf-ball sized blobs on the cookie sheet leaving plenty of space. The dough is crumbly, so use your hands to make them cookie shaped. (round and flat)

Bake cookies for about 11-13 minutes, or until the dough starts to turn golden brown. Remove to cooling rack and beat away the family for 10 minutes so the things can cool.

 

The consumers had this to say about the cookies.

  • We used to make ginger snaps with bacon fat when I was a kid!
  • It’s nice that they aren’t too sweet.
  • I like the dense texture.
  • Lots of chocolate!
  • They don’t taste like bacon.
  • Can I take some over to my friends?
  • Are you crazy?

Enjoy!

P.S. If you like the coffee mug, you can pick it up here.

5 Responses to “Bacon cookie recipe evolution”

  1. Muffin Says:

    Awesome! Your cookies look really tasty, and I totally love that mug. *smile* I hope you have a wonderful Christmas!


  2. ‘Infamous’ indeed. I still can’t believe people put bacon in cookies. But then, I never would have seen deep fried twinkies coming – so what do I know?


  3. […] do you think this would taste with the Bacon Chocolate Chip Cookies?  Feel free to taunt me with your comments. I can take it. Candied Bacon Ice Cream March 9, […]

  4. Angelo Says:

    But, being laughed at while preparing for a possible zombie 2012 apocalypse,
    or other consequences of the end of the Mayan calendar is going to be worth it –
    when the unimaginable and previously comically impossible
    actually come to life. Who’s gonna keep ’em down.
    The troops are torn apart by the same enemy soldiers they had
    killed a few minutes earlier in an ambush.


  5. The company who started this campaign eventually
    became the world’s largest soap company. A good place to explore and share all the gastronomic delights of India is the Khana Khazana website. The best way to order a pizza is to use your cell phone.


Leave a comment