Mother’s Dog Cookies

December 13, 2007

newf

My mother has two Newfoundlands and one dog of questionable parentage. Since her kids are all grown and gone, she parents these beasts. I figure they are probably just as difficult as we were when we lived at home. (Maybe the dogs make less of a mess.)

When she visited us last, she made these treats for my Great Danes and they decided they liked her better than they liked me (fickle brats!) If you want a dog to love you, put a few of these in your pocket. The recipe came from one of her Newfoundland forums and she doesn’t remember who authored it, so if it is yours, please feel free to claim it!

Salmon Cookies

 

Clothespin

2 cans salmon, with juice

5 large eggs

rolled oats

 

Plug your nose and empty the salmon with juice into a large mixing bowl. Add the eggs and get it all gloopy together. Mix in lots of oats, enough to give the moosh some shape.

 

Try not to hurl as you spread the moosh onto an oil-greased cookie sheet to about 1/2″ thickness (you can also cover a cookie sheet with baking parchment). Use a pizza cutter to cut the moosh into squares before you bake it.

 

Bake at 350 for 40 minutes. RUN outside and inhale deeply, relishing the rush of fresh, clean air into your lungs. It’s helpful to keep in mind that you are not doing this for you. This thought helps to keep the “aroma” in perspective. : )

 

Store any uneaten cookies (hahaha) in the fridge.

 

YIELD: Approximately three cups of drool.

 

Aura’s changes:

I prefer to cook them in individual bite-sized portions (size will vary depending on the size of your dog) rather than in a sheet. I fill a sheet like I would with regular oatmeal cookies and flatten them a bit with the bottom of a drinking glass.

And, I don’t think they smell that bad. Maybe the author isn’t used to salmon…

 

4 Responses to “Mother’s Dog Cookies”


  1. Thanks for this great recipe! The Newfoundland is soo beautiful! I love this breed, but afraid that the Southern California heat will be too hot for them! Do you have a pic of your Great Dane to add to Dante & Sierra’s list?


  2. Thanks for the recipe, will have to pick up salmon today to make cookies tonight. Yes I have a newf, her name is Abby, she is a year old. I know she will like them because she likes and chews on just about everything, but I love her.

  3. Barb Says:

    As much as I loathe fish, for the sake my doggie clients (I’m a pet sitter), I bought some salmon today and will be making these. Thanks for the recipe!

  4. Barb Says:

    I posted this to my blog :). Found you from White on Rice, so posted their recipe too
    http://woofnanny.blogspot.com/2009/12/salmon-cookies.html


Leave a comment