Getting to know my new camera

September 19, 2008

As you recall, I have mentioned my frustration about my pictures looking “prettier” than reality.  It is a shame, really.  I feel a bit like I have been false advertising!  None the less, in an effort to produce a truer color rendering, I have purchased a newer, fancier (but still simple) camera (Canon Powershot SX 110 IS approx. $250.)

I am already loving the big LCD screen.  It makes viewing much better compared to my small travel-sized Canon.

The biggest difference seems to be that the camera lets inmore light and so is less dependent on the flash (which is what seems to be “enriching” the colors.

Here are some examples from yesterday.

with flash

with flash

without flash

without flash

The true rendition of the color is somewhere in between, so I will continue to play with the settings until I get a result that pleases me.

In the mean time, here are some before and after shots for you.

Before

Before

after

after

before

before

after

after

I am going to need to be more aware of the mirror.

This next client has to be “normal” at work, but likes a little more attitude in her after work life.

work

work

after work

after work

before

before

after

after

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
3 Responses to “Getting to know my new camera”


  1. Is that you I spy in the mirror?

    🙂

  2. Aura Mae Says:

    Yup. And not dressed for a photo shoot!

  3. Kim Thompson Says:

    I LOVE my new hair. Love it, I say! And so do others–especially the dark chocolate highlights.

    Kim

    thanks for letting me be the test case on your new cam.


Leave a Reply

