Short hair can be formal, too!

August 15, 2008

Our dear friend Jessee Skittrall sent me some great shots of some work he did this week. You may have read my previous post What Ever Happened To Formal Hair? One of the comments that post received was the question “What about short hair?” Well, my little kumquats, here is an example.

From Jessee’s email:
Ok so this is by far one of my best days as a hairdresser. I bleached her coarse level 7 hair to this color and then we did a dry run for her wedding. Vision it…a white mermaid gown, pinup makeup with liner lashes & red lips with three inch 40s style platform shoes. This is by far the best example of formal hair in a long time! Only you can appreciate this!



He also sent me a “before” picture, but it is the wrong file format for the blog. I will try to get another from him and post it for all you curious folk.

EDIT: Got it!  By the way, for those of you who aren’t hairdressers or experienced observers of what can or can not be done with haircolor, this is amazing work!

Before

Before

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

8 Responses to “Short hair can be formal, too!”


  1. Oh MY GOD. She looked amazing but it really takes the ‘before’ picture to drive it home. I really really really wish I lived in the same side of the country as you, so you could work magic with my hair.

    Insane.

  2. Aura Mae Says:

    Just a clarification: My buddy did this hair, not I. I would love to take credit, but Jessee might kick my ass!


  3. […] Click here for an example of short formal hair. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Too Old for Long Hairstyles?SHOCK! Miley Cyrus: I was in love with Nick JonasNot-so-bulging brides – BroadsheetRita Hazan: Finding the Perfect Color For You Posted by Aura Mae Filed in beauty, gripes, hair Tags: formal hair, Oscars, updo, wedding […]

  4. Becci Renfro Says:

    GET OUT OF HERE! Is that the same lady?
    This looks like it was super exciting and so fun! I’d love to see the finished wedding photo…

    Have a great hair day! Becci

  5. gregorylent Says:

    now go get the photo of the groom when he first saw his darling goth-girl in the new look.

  6. Kris Says:

    The blonde looks so healthy after all that bleaching. Can we do that in pieces? An then ellumen on top?


  7. […] >> pinup Pullin’ ‘Tubes: Freak Folk Pin-Up Girl Saved by slaphappy121 on Sat 25-10-2008 Short hair can be formal, too! Saved by Zeno125 on Sat 25-10-2008 Just what the doctor ordered roundup–shhh! Saved by […]

  8. yohabloespanglish Says:

    Yes, well, I have hair even shorter than that. This was sort of a snafu, I didn’t expect it to end up this short, but now it’s what I have to work with, less than two weeks before my wedding.

    Fashion changes but style is something you have whether you do or don’t sweep your hair on top of your head.


Leave a Reply

