Aura’s Banana Bread

August 10, 2008


I watched the bananas getting spotted and decided, rather than sharing them with the dog, I would let them go a few more days and make banana bread. Veteran readers will notice that I have never posted a recipe in this category. We don’t often have sweets at home, so this is a rare treat. My banana bread is a variation of Cook’s Illustrated‘s: The Best Banana Bread.

2-3 bananas

1 stick butter

2 large eggs

1/3 cup sour cream (try Greek Yogurt for a bit of a different flavor)

1 teaspoon vanilla

 

2 cups all purpose flour

¾ cup granulated sugar

½ teaspoon sea salt

¾ teaspoon baking soda

 

Place bananas on a foil lined pan in a 400° oven for 10 minutes then remove and allow to cool. (Roasting the bananas brings out a caramelized sweetness that enriches the flavor of the bread.)

Turn oven down to 350°.

Melt a stick of butter and let it cool.

Butter and flour the bottom half of a loaf pan. (Today I forgot to flour it. I will let you know how that worked out. Doing only to the bottom of the pan is supposed to make the bread rise higher than if you had greased the whole pan.)

Roughly beat bananas in a stand mixer. (I suggest you peel them directly over the mixing bowl because there may be some liquid inside.)

Add eggs, vanilla and melted butter and mix until combined.

Add dry ingredients and stir (on lowest setting so as to not get flour all over the kitchen) until just combined. It will still look lumpy.

With spatula, scrape the sides of the mixing bowl and incorporate any residual flour. Pour into loaf pan and smooth the top with the spatula.

Bake on the lower middle rack for about 45-55 minutes. Done means it is golden brown and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Serve warm or at room temperature.


Zemanta Pixie
6 Responses to “Aura’s Banana Bread”

  1. Jane Says:

    Baking the bananas is an interesting idea, I’m glad I stumbled upon this post.

  2. Jane Says:

    ha, that’s good – I was just looking at the tag surfer on wordpress so I guess that’s why. I’m in the UK and it’s nearly midnight but I’m hungry thinking of banana bread!


  3. Even though I forgot to flour the pan after buttering it, the loaf came out just fine. The house smells great! Now I have to try to save some for the teenager who can’t be bothered to come home because it is summer and she would rather be anywhere but home.

  4. Jessee Skittrall Says:

    ok so I love the roast the banana idea that totally makes sense. The greek yogurt idea fascinates me. What kind of flavor does it add? I am totally doing this on Wednesday…thanks for the idea as usual!


  5. @Jessee: There are lots of things that act like sour cream and they all have a different taste. Creme fraiche, plain yogurt, Greek yogurt, flavored yogurts (lemon might be nice in this)…all similar in a baking application, but each a little different. Some people prefer no-fat or low-fat yogurt as a sour cream replacement. I tend to use what I have on hand.

  6. Kjersti Says:

    YUMMY!!!! I have to try roasting the bananas.


Leave a Reply

