Where have you gone, Aura Mae?

June 30, 2008

Miss Georgia Mae

Howdy, kids.  I don’t want you to think I have been abducted by aliens.

I have been hit with some startling news and am spending all my free time (when I might otherwise be writing to you all) researching info about doggie bone cancer.

My girl dog, Georgia Mae, is in dire straights.  She has been diagnosed with bone cancer in her right front ankle.  The tumor is getting visibly larger every day and she is lame in that foot.

I am looking into treatment options and reading real world stories of families who have gone through this with their giant breed dogs.

If you have any insight, I would love to hear it.

I promise I will be back writing as soon as I get a grip on this.

Zemanta Pixie
5 Responses to “Where have you gone, Aura Mae?”

  1. some times Says:

    i saw this page it very interesting i like it

  2. carrie Says:

    I have no solution, but i love the girl she is a good soul. Big Kisses to her

  3. Kris Says:

    Thanks for posting something Aura. It’s nice to know what’s happening with Georgia and not bug you in the process. Belly rubs…

  4. Kris Says:

    … for Georgia.

  5. Kjersti Says:

    My heart goes out to you. My Mastiff had to have a limb removed. It was not due to cancer, but for other reasons. If this is an option that would save her, I wanted to let you know that my dog did go on and he did adapt. There is hydrotherapy for dogs who have had limbs removed. It keeps them moving and it is easy on their body. I know having a limb removed seems dire, but if it is an option I wanted you to know that the dogs can still be happy and healthy as long as they are with the family that loves them most. I hope it all works out.
    I also read this:
    LIMB SPARING SURGERY: Limb-sparing techniques developed for humans have been adapted for dogs. To spare the limb (and thus avoid amputation), the tumorous bone is removed and either replaced by a bone graft from a bone bank or the remaining bone can be re-grown via a new technique called “bone transport osteogenesis.” The joint nearest the tumor is fused (ie fixed in one position and cannot be flexed or extended.)

    Limb sparing cannot be done if more than 50% of the bone is involved by tumor or if neighboring muscle is involved.

    Limb sparing does not work well for hind legs or tumors of the humerus (“arm” bone.)

    Limb sparing works best for tumors of the distal radius (“forearm” bone).


Leave a Reply

