Random brush with the fringe of fame

May 22, 2008

We get new clients all the time.  It’s great.  Some fresh meat perspective for the salon is always welcome.

Since we have a big online presence, it’s where the new clients find us if they weren’t referred by a current client.

Today’s new client is a bit of a transient, having lived in Pasadena for the past few months.  She’s a singer/actress/dancer, so I began by asking her all the questions I ask performers:

Do you have a head shot that we need to match? (No.)

What image are you selling? (Wholesome.)

What are you auditioning for next? (Leaving for India tomorrow with her brother who is also a singer.)

So we took her “I live in LA” hair and made it less blonde and more “I don’t color my hair, I have just spent time on the beach.”

She’s a cutie-patootie.  Her brother is 18 and she has been traveling with him here and there as his career winds its way around the world.

We talked about family and how silly 18 year old boys are and how they think they are so smart and so grown up.

As we are just finishing up, I ask her if she or her brother have a website and if I googled them would anything come up.

She says: You probably know him.

I think: I don’t really know many Indian/Italian 18 year old boy singers.

She says: His name is Sanjaya.

You can watch their audition video here.

2 Responses to “Random brush with the fringe of fame”


  1. WOOHOO! I thought Sanjaya was adorable.

  2. Kjersti Says:

    I will always remember the pony tail mohawk he wore. She seems like a really sweet girl! How fun.


Leave a Reply

