Cultural Perceptions of Beauty – or – Freakishly distrubing photos of bound feet

May 13, 2008

I have read lots of books that talk about the practice of foot binding, and I have even seen illustrations. I had no idea, however, that their were women alive in our time who had been involved in this, and I had no idea there were photos!

I pondered whether to share this with you because it might be disturbing for some readers. But I decided that the opportunity for fully understanding the lengths to which humans will go in the pursuit of beauty was greater than the “eww!” factor. Feel free to disagree in the comments.

8 Responses to “Cultural Perceptions of Beauty – or – Freakishly distrubing photos of bound feet”

  1. Oxymoronic Says:

    Wow, it’s even worse than I imagined…

  2. ashley Says:

    sorry that must have been rough good luk!

  3. andy Says:

    Ahhh!!!!!

    it burns!!!! it burns!!!!!!!

  4. SalonProfit Says:

    Thank you for sharing that. I have heard of the foot binding practice but never seen photos like that!It’s a strange world we live in…

  5. PersonofNothing Says:

    oh.my.gosh. those feet are pointy!

  6. Britney Says:

    I think this is really interesting and neat!! Although it can be a little different for us it isn’t or wasn’t for them. Its like us doing tattoos or something. Thank you for the pictures!! I bet it hurt for 5 or 6 year olds. 😦 😦


Leave a Reply

