Squash Soup – pictures and variations

April 8, 2008

ingredients

I posted the basic recipe for squash soup earlier, but never gave you pictures.

The fabulous thing about this recipe is that it lends itself so easily to many variations. Since I had my new smoked paprika on hand, the decision was made to try a Mediterranean version.

Here is what varied from the original recipe:

I didn’t plan far enough ahead, so there was no time to roast and cool the veggies. So it was time to get to chopping them while raw. I peeled the squash and apples.

ingredients chopped

I browned the garlic a bit in olive oil before turning down the heat and adding the onions. After the onions were softened, I added Kosher Salt, Oregano, Rosemary and Smoked Paprika.

onions and seasonings

I continued this on medium heat until the aroma rose up and filled the kitchen (5 minutes-ish) then added two pints of hard cider, effectively de-glazing the pan and building the broth. When well incorporated, I added 1 quart of my own frozen chicken stock in big chunks and all the chopped vegetables and brought the pot to a boil.

ready to simmer

After we got a good rolling boil and all the frozen stock was incorporated, I put on the lid and set it to simmer.

You know it is done when you push the squash against the wall of the pot and it disintegrates. (Taste now to decide if you need any additional salt or pepper.)

ready to blend

I use an immersion (stick) blender to puree in the pan. I had an assortment of toppings at the table, sour cream, crème fraîche, and grated Parmesan.

yumm!

Variations:

French (delicate): Herbs de Provence, shallots, champagne

Asian (spicy): Five Spice, cayenne pepper, Japanese beer

Thai: ginger, stir in coconut milk before serving

Anyone have any other ideas they would like to add?

One Response to “Squash Soup – pictures and variations”

  1. Matt Mikulla Says:

    That looks delicious. We just became twitter friends.

    You might enjoy my friend Benitos blog: http://wine-by-benito.blogspot.com/


Leave a Reply

