The story behind my new avatar

March 24, 2008

I am lucky to know lots of creative, interesting people.  Some of them actually make a living being creative (only a few make a living being interesting!)  One of them is Stan Shaw.  I met Stan a million years ago when I was a young hairdresser.  He was buddies with my co-worker, Denny (who was in a local band called Running With Scissors…anyone know what happened to them?)  Stan later married a friend of mine who is also creative and interesting.

When I had my mid-life crisis, they designed my tattoo.

aura tattoo

A few weeks ago, Stan left a comment on the post about bacon vodka which led me to his website where I saw a cartoon that looked (I thought) a lot like me.  (It is a female with glasses, funky colored hair, pointy chin and holding a PDA.  You tell me.)  It wasn’t supposed to be me.  I didn’t commission it.  But I have no problem with second hand art (it is more within my budget, anyway!)

So, without further ado, here is the new cartoon version of Aura Mae.  I will be using it online and perhaps in print on occasion as the mood strikes.  Mostly I was just tired of the head shot from the book that I had been using for the past couple of years.  The upside of using a cartoon as your likeness?  I can be eternally youthful and no one will give me crap about how old the photo is!

aura pda

One Response to “The story behind my new avatar”


Leave a Reply

