What’s in the slow cooker today? – St. Patrick’s Day edition

March 18, 2008

Corned beef is a meal that we don’t save just for March 17 because I like it so much. And considering how well yesterday’s meal turned out, I can bet the family will be requesting this one again soon!

Step One:

Pick a decent piece of meat. Quite a few of the corned beef briskets I see for sale are rather pitiful. I have found a brand I prefer. They sell it at Fred Meyer. It’s “The Real Mc Coy.” (Nice play on words, eh?)

Step Two:

Pour the secret ingredient in the bottom of the slow cooker. (One bottle seems to be the perfect amount to add flavor without tasting “beer-ish.” If you can’t get Guinness, Killian’s Red will do.)

secret ingredient

Step Three:

Place the brisket (fat side up) in the slow cooker along with it’s seasoning packet. Cover the meat with water and cook on low for 6-8 hours.

corned beef

Step Four:

An hour or so before serving, put root veggies (lightly tossed with olive oil and kosher salt) in a roasting pan in a 400 degree oven. Toss occassionally until al dente.

march 17 veg

Step Five:

Add cabbage to slow cooker.

cabbage

Step Six:

Serve and listen to the family rave about the best corned beef ever!

plated

What I did wrong:

I thought I had cut the potatoes small enough so that they would be done at the same time as the carrots. I was wrong. I ended up pulling the carrots and cooking the potatoes for an additional 15 minutes. When the potatoes were done, I tossed the carrots back in and they were brought to temperature very quickly. No one had any idea of my error. (Well, except now, I guess.)

2 Responses to “What’s in the slow cooker today? – St. Patrick’s Day edition”

  1. thedailydish Says:

    Looks yummy. I LOVE your green plates BTW.

  2. Aura Mae Says:

    The family got me a nice set of Fiesta Ware for my most recent birthday. I have been loving it! Of course, they had no idea about dishes in general and Fiesta Ware in particular, so I have an eight piece place setting in green (I believe they call it Shamrock) and so I have been adding serving pieces in other colors. (See the ramikans in the March 18 quiche post.)


Leave a Reply

