You can do it if he can

February 25, 2008

gene

My father got his pilot’s license and joined the Civil Air Patrol last week. For the record, he is 61 years old.

In addition to this most recent accomplishment, he has quite a list of others (these are the ones I can think of off the top of my head and in no particular order):

  1. Ultralight pilot and instructor (This always seemed like attempted suicide as a hobby to me. I prefer my aircraft to have walls.)
  2. MBA
  3. BS in Mining Engineering (and that is why we lived in such exciting places as Death Valley, West Texas and the bayous of Louisiana!)
  4. BS in Ocean Engineering (now the folks live on the gulf coast in Mississippi)
  5. MS in Ocean Engineering
  6. Owned a bakery/restaurant
  7. Served in the Air Force

You might be tempted to think that this is a guy to whom things come easy. You would be wrong. He was telling me how long and difficult a journey it had been to get this license and I said, “It must make college seem easy by comparison.” He said, “Oh, everything is hard for me. I’m just used to it.”

I know he has always anguished over tests. I also know him to be painstakingly thorough and detail oriented (he is an engineer, after all.)

He is also not an optimist.

When waiting for test results he will always think he has done worse than the results eventually show.

He actually has a tendency to be a bit of an “Eyeore” on occasion.

So what is my point?

Despite the fact that he finds things difficult, despite the fact that he is sure he is always on the verge of failing, he keeps at it.

And look what he has to show for it.

What keeps you from accomplishing your dreams?

2 Responses to “You can do it if he can”


  1. Congratulations to your Dad!

  2. SERCAPPAO Says:

    Please tell your father that we are all delighted he has joined our ranks and proud of his accomplishments.

    Regards,
    Steven

    V/R-
    STEVEN SOLOMON, Captain, CAP
    Director of Public Affairs, Southeast Region


Leave a Reply

