Cell Phones for Soldiers

January 15, 2008

Pre-Paid Shipping Label Print a pre-paid shipping label to send in your phone

Got an old cell phone sitting around gathering dust? (I was just looking at my Trinity today as it sat, lonely & unused, on a shelf.) This organization recycles the phones and uses the proceeds to buy pre-paid phone cards so deployed soldiers can call home. In the sixties, when my father was in Vietnam, there were no pre-paid phone cards. He wrote letters. My mother let me read them once and while it was nice to get a humanizing glimpse of a man I never got to know, it was hard to remember that the 60’s were a long time ago and that he was a 20-something soldier who, even though he was an instructor at Officer Candidate School, was just, himself, a kid. So, I guess what I am saying is that I have a soft spot for these kids who are so far away from their families and if a used cell phone can help give them a little comfort, I think I can box it up.

(You can mail it in or drop it off at any of 1800 company-owned AT&T stores.)

Leave a Reply

