Is our government run by junior high school students?

December 18, 2007

I try really hard not to talk about politics because it is nearly impossible to do so without ticking someone off. But this morning’s news story is driving me crazy. As the parent of two teenagers, perhaps I am especially touchy when it comes to adolescent behavior, so forgive if you disagree with this interpretation.

Click here to read the story.

Have you ever told a kid not to do something and not been specific enough?

Parent: Johnny, don’t swing the cat by the tail.

Johnny: OK

Next day

Parent: Johnny! The cat is bald! Didn’t I tell you to leave him alone?

Johnny: No. You told me not to swing him by the tail.

Parent: And why do you think I said that?

Johnny: I don’t know.

Parent: Damn it! You know good and well I meant not to torture or torment the cat at all.

Johnny: Yeah. Well. That’s not what you said.

Eventually the parent learns to be crystal clear in their communication with the child.

Perhaps the people keeping a check on things in government haven’t learned that lesson.

Leave a Reply

