Guardian Angel can stay and work in US

December 5, 2007

imigrant rescuerThis photo provided by the Mayor’s Office of Magdalena de Kino, Mexico shows Manuel Jesus Cordova Soberanes in the office of Adriana Hoyos Rodriguez, the mayor of Magdalena de Kino in Sonora, Mexico, Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007. Cordova, 26, an illegal immigrant who rescued a 9-year-old boy from the southern Arizona desert Thanksgiving Day said Wednesday he was thinking of his own four children when he halted his two-day walk from Mexico to help the boy. (AP Photo/Courtesy of Mayor’s Office of Magdalena de Kino)

You may have read this story of a Mexican immigrant who came across a boy and his mother after their van crashed on a Forest Service road near the Mexican border.

When I heard the story, I was awash in two completely different thoughts.

1. What a blessing to this boy to have a guardian angel. Imagine being nine, surviving the crash that killed your mother, and having the spend the night alone in the middle of nowhere.

2. Crap! The guy goes a good turn for a stranger and will get bounced back because of it. Truly, no good deed goes unpunished!

I was very happy today to see that the man has been granted a work visa and can legally stay and work here.

I know some of you have very strong feelings about immigration, and you may disagree with this. My thought is that we could use more people here who put the needs of a person at crisis ahead of their own needs. I think we can all agree that while helping the boy was the right thing to do, it certainly wasn’t the easiest choice and not everyone would have acted with such integrity.

3 Responses to “Guardian Angel can stay and work in US”

  1. Aura Mae Says:

    OK, I swear I watched this news on CNN the other day, but I can’t find any supporting documentation. This is where I admit I MIGHT BE WRONG! Write it down on your calendars. Today I admitted that I am potentially fallible. :O

  2. createmo Says:

    Thank you for your site 😉
    I made with photoshop backgrounds for myspace and youtube and even more
    my backgrounds:http://tinyurl.com/6kw9wq
    have a good day and thank you again!

  3. natalie Says:

    i think that this guy changed the mentallity of the way that people think of immigrants
    they are really good people


Leave a Reply

