I did find two concepts I really liked tucked inside Eat Pray Love

November 26, 2007

Just so I don’t sound like I hated the thing entirely, I will tell you that while I was reading, I did hit upon two tiny little sentences that resonated with me enough to grab my highlighter.  Here they are (quoted directly from Eat Pray Love – by Elizabeth Gilbert):

1. “‘The world is afflicted with death and decay, therefore the wise do not grieve, knowing the terms of the world,’ says an old Buddhist teaching. In other words: Get used to it.”

When I was a child and was victimized by some perceived injustice, I would complain that it “wasn’t fair.” My mother always had the same response. “Life’s not fair. Get used to it.” Perhaps that helped form my personal philosophy of “It is what it is.” Some things just are. They can not be changed. Whining about them does not make them better, nor does it make me happier. Accepting what can not be changed is incredibly helpful in finding peace. The folks in AA use the Serenity Prayer.

2. “This is nature of world. This is destiny. Worry about your own craziness only – make you in peace.”

This is the broken English response of a Balinese medicine man who was asked what could be done about the craziness of the world.

It reminds me of the old southern saying “don’t go around borrowing trouble.” We all have plenty of our own craziness to deal with. There’s no sense trying to solve the world’s craziness. I file that in the same place as “own your shit.” The better you get at separating your issues and events from those of others, the more peace you will find.

One Response to “I did find two concepts I really liked tucked inside Eat Pray Love”


  1. I am SUCH a fan of the Serenity Prayer. I have a friend who is a firefighter and only stresses in life or death situations. Everything else is just not important to him. It reminds me of that line from “Fight Club”, ‘the ability to let that which does not matter truly slide’.


Leave a Reply

