I’m guilty, are you? (from Larry Winget)

October 22, 2007

3 Reasons People Aren’t Successful

Want to know why most people are not living lives of success, happiness and abundance? There are only three reasons: They are stupid. They are lazy. They don’t give a damn.

I dare you to come up with a reason other than those. Let me explain. Few people are actually stupid. Everyone knows enough to be successful at something. So it is rare that someone is really too dumb to be successful. The problem is not that we don’t know, the problem is that we don’t do what we already know . . . which means we are lazy. How sad to know how to be successful and be too lazy to do it. It must mean you don’t care enough to be successful – in other words, you don’t really give a damn! How do you explain that to your family? How can you look yourself in the eye? Was that rerun of Seinfeld really all that important? Could you really afford to take that nap? Don’t you care enough to do all you can?

Face it. You could do more. Stop telling yourself how busy you are. Stop the excuses. Just admit to yourself that you could do more than you are doing. You could turn off the TV, come in a little earlier, stay a little later, and work a little harder. The issue is not could you but will you?

I am guilty of being lazy. I know exactly what it takes for me to be thinner than I am. I have come to the realization that I am simply too lazy to get my ass to the gym every day. I file this under “own your shit.”

What are you guilty of?

4 Responses to “I’m guilty, are you? (from Larry Winget)”

  1. carrie Says:

    I think people should ask the question ” What is it that I want and what makes me happy” thats the million dollar question, When you can answer that then you will be motived, happy, and successful. When I deal with people who have just graduated from college I ask them… What do they want and what makes them happy, most don’t know. What I want and what makes me happy does change, as life is always changing… but I’m aware of the question and ask myself often. ..Simple.. but helpful. Then you wont worry so much of what your quilty of.


  2. Carrie, I bounce back and forth on this issue. Sometimes I think “following your bliss” makes sense and other times, I just wish be people would put some damn effort into the job they have.

    Maybe you’re right. If they did what they loved, they wouldn’t have to “try hard” to do a good job, the work would be its own reward. But society still needs someone to unplug the drains and dig the holes. Are there people that would be attracted to that career path because it makes them happy?

    See, I still can’t make up my mind. How about: “If you can’t be with the one you love, love the one you’re with.” If your passion is to drive a big rig, but your job is working at the shoe store, either change jobs or suck it up.

    Either way, NO WHINING!

  3. carrie Says:

    I agree, NO Whining! But if you never ask yourself the question then you can never move toward what makes you happy. So people are stuck never being happy. Being grateful to have a job is a state of happiness, so really its a state of mind. Be grateful for everything you have and move forward toward the things you want…..Success lives in there. People stay confused becouse they forget to be grateful.


  4. Happy, successful and fulfilled people also have a touch of crazy in ’em. Just my opinion. Especially if you own your own business.

    I hate house work. Weekends I am a lazy ass when I know I should be sweeping or doing laundry.


Leave a Reply

