Dan Gilbert – Stumbling on Happiness

October 8, 2007

I read his book this summer and I really enjoyed the scientific insight into such an existential idea as Happiness.

This video is 20 minutes and gives you a taste of what some research studies at Harvard discovered.

If you don’t have time to watch the video, I recommend you pick up the book. If you don’t have time to read a book, I will give you an instant lesson in happiness.

It is what it is.

There you go. That’s all you need to know to be happy. The life you have is the life you’re going to have unless you work hard to change it. Your mother is always going to be the way she is. Your hair is always going to be the way it is. You won’t be any happier until you learn how to find happiness in the life you have.

Do you think I like that my son is in jail?  Obviously I don’t.  But, it is what it is.  I can’t choose the facts that exist.  I can choose how I react to those facts.

Be happy now, not when you get a promotion, meet the perfect partner, buy the perfect house or take the perfect vacation. (I hate to be the one to tell you this, but there is no perfect partner, house or vacation.)

It’s a big, bright world out there. Decide to be happy and make the best of it!

2 Responses to “Dan Gilbert – Stumbling on Happiness”

  1. Judie Says:

    Too true! And too bad that it takes some of us years to figure out all of the above. 🙂


  2. Judie, it takes most women until their thirties to make peace with their hair; I reckon making peace with you life is at least as hard.


Leave a Reply

