Haircolor trends – culled from the blog stats

January 22, 2008

People are always asking me what is new in hair. They may not want to participate in a trend, but they want to know what it is.

The Posh Bob is the most recent nationwide trend that has enamored Average Jane.

posh bob

The last one was the Rachel Shag.

rachel shag

Now, I want you to go out on a limb and guess why.

It is because these hairstyles can be tweaked to be flattering on lots of different faces!

So it is this observation that leads me to my next comment about hair color trends.

PINK.

Every day my blog stats tell me that people are searching for pink hair.

Really.

Every day.

And I am here to tell you that in the land of non-traditional haircolors, pink is the stand-out winner.

Go out on that limb again and ask yourself why.

Because pink is a color that can be tweaked to be flattering on lots of different faces!

And it has the added bonus of being considered “cute” as well as “sexy” and when pushed into fucshia, “edgy” or “funky.”

So you see, pink is the crayon color that Average Jane can pull off (in bits and pieces) and still is unconventional enough that when applied with a heavier hand is acceptable in the alternative cultures.

Add to that the changes in technology that enable us to make a pink color that actually lasts, and you have a winner.

pink hairstyles

This website is ALL about pink hair!

Now, this dabbling in the crayon box is nothing new.

Those of you who are old enough to have been doing hair or getting your hair colored in the eighties might remember getting a Cellophane. This was a Sebastian product that gave a bright deposit of color and was often used to make a boldly colored streak. My Aunt Cindy (a blonde in her twenties at the time) had a dusty blue streak. I thought it was very cool!

So here we are in the 21st century and we have done every natural color to death.

Blondes are blonde, browns are brown and reds are red.

But every shade can incorporate pink.

Live a little.

Remember the cardinal rule of haircolor: If you don’t like it, we can always cover it with something darker.

8 Responses to “Haircolor trends – culled from the blog stats”

  1. Kris Says:

    Aura was able to turn my green hair into MANY shades of pink/purple. Now that’s talent!

  2. Melanie Says:

    I have to say that I love this haircut,whether it’s a trend or not! Especially since I loved it before posh got a hold of it.
    I had a horrible experience when I asked for this cut (though I’d like the line to go up a little higher in the back) about two months ago. I’ve now let it grow out so that hopefully I can now get what I wanted (she actually took a CHUNK out of the side…which another salon was able to hide, thankfully!) I’m terrified! PLEASE tell me (though only if it’s true…lol… ;o) ) that someone at your salon is great at this cut) my hair is very thick (I have a lot) and wavy, so it needs A LOT of texturizing, but I don’t want it to look messy in the back.
    I just stumbled across your salon, and am hoping I’ve found my answer!

  3. Skin Care Says:

    I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading.

  4. modge Says:

    I just wanna ask some opinion bout my hair color plan: im gonna make a straight red line in a middle, blue in a right side and a green in left side of my head,, is it right combination? please help me cause i dont know how to do the hair color combinations…^^

    • Aura Mae Says:

      I like the color choices, but I think you might be happier if you put the colors in panels next to each other rather than splitting the head into 3 segments.


    • Aura is right Modge, it is better if you try to mix your hair colors rather than make a division on your hair. I say you go to an expert to give you more hair color ideas on how to make a good combination of your colors


  5. In the spirit of this blog and our love for fashion and hair.

    http://newyorkknowsbest.wordpress.com/2011/04/16/git-yur-herr-did/

    It’s a great little article about living in New York and being able to afford to look great on a budget.
    SUPER HANDY!


  6. hi I wanted to know is it advice-able to go for hair color after doing curls. if yes i would like to know which color combination will look nice on curled hair.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

